Division of Polymer Physics

The Division of Polymer Physics, established in 1944, focuses on the physics of natural and synthetic macromolecular substances.

Gray arrow Benefits of Membership
Gray arrow Join DPOLY — First Year Free!

News & Announcements

The March Meeting will soon be here, and we look forward to an excellent program!
View the DPOLY program booklet format_pdf

Welcome from the Program Chair, David Simmons
Dear Colleagues,
David Simmons photoWelcome to the 2019 APS March Meeting Division of Polymer Physics program. Especially welcome to our new members and attendees; I hope that this will be your first of many visits to this outstanding meeting. This year’s DPOLY program includes an exceptionally broad suite of topics and a number of exciting innovations; I would like to bring to your attention several of its highlights. read more
Short course: The 2019 DPOLY Short Course will provide a tutorial on scattering methods in polymer science. read more

Student Funding Brochure pdf

Send Noteworthy News Tips to AIP!

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DPOLY

Congratulations to Prize & Award Recipients

2019 John H. Dillon Medal
Zahra Fakhraai, University of Pennsylvania

2019 Polymer Physics Prize
Ron Larson, University of Michigan

DPOLY Images

We solicit images from the APS DPOLY community in order to enhance the visual appearance of our website.  Please email your images (with appropriate citation/reference/acknowledgement) to Venkat Ganesan (venkat@che.utexas.edu).

Prize & Award Recipients

Polymer Physics Prize:

Ron Larson, University of Michigan

"For wide ranging, multi-disciplinary contributions to understanding the structure, dynamics, and rheology of polymeric materials in melt, solution, glassy, mesomorphic, and multi-phase states, including viscoelastic instabilities, constitutive equations, alignment transitions, and phase behavior."

Ron Larson

John H. Dillon Medal:

Zahra Fakhraai, University of Pennsylvania

"For exceptional investigations of surface effects in polymer glasses and amyloid aggregation."

Zahra Fakhraai

Frank J. Padden, Jr. Award

Jelena Dinic, University of Illinois at Chicago

Jelena Dinic photo

Michael Hore, Case Western Reserve U

Michael Hore photo

Andrew Parnell, University of Sheffield

Andrew Parnell