September 10, 2010



Ken Cole
APS Administrator for Governing Committees


American Physical Society 2010 Election Results

Four Members Chosen for Leadership Positions in APS

COLLEGE PARK, MD – American Physical Society elections occur annually. This year, in addition to electing a new Vice-President, Chair-Elect of the Nominating Committee, and 2 General Councillors, members voted to approve an amendment to the APS Constitution (see below).  New terms begin January 1, 2011.

Newly Elected Members

Vice President
Michael S Turner
Michael S. Turner
The University of Chicago

Chair-Elect, Nominating Committee
Lars Bildsten
Lars Bildsten
University of California, Santa Barbara

General Councillor
Haiyan Gao
Haiyan Gao
Duke University

General Councillor
Pierre Meystre
Pierre Meystre
University of Arizona

APS Constitutional Amendment

The APS Constitutional amendment issue on the 2010 ballot proposed to change the structure of the APS Council, increasing the representation of the international community. Currently, the Council of 41 members has one International Councillor whose primary residence is outside the United States. The proposed Constitutional change would require 4 of the 8 General Councillors to be International Councillors. All Councillors would serve 4 year terms.

The Constitutional amendment passed easily with the approval of over 83% of those voting, far exceeding the required 66%.
Gray arrow  Background on the Proposed Constitutional Amendment


About APS

The American Physical Society ( is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS represents over 51,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world. Society offices are located in College Park, MD (Headquarters), Ridge, NY, and Washington, DC.

Media Contact