July 22, 2010



James Riordon
APS Head of Media Relations


Blewett Scholarship Recipients Announced for 2010

COLLEGE PARK, MD — The Committee on the Status of Women in Physics (CSWP) of the American Physical Society (APS) announces the recipients of the 2010 M. Hildred Blewett Scholarship. The Blewett Scholarship enables women to return to physics research after having had to interrupt their careers for family reasons.  

Natalia Drichko

Natalia DrichkoNatalia Drichko, a visiting Research Assistant Professor at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland, will work on the connection between antiferromagnetic order and unconventional superconductivity. While living in Europe, Drichko was the recipient of both the prestigious Alexander von Humbold Foundation Fellowship and a Margarethe von Wrangell Habilitation Fellowship. Her research track record includes 53 publications in peer-reviewed journals and a patent registered in the Russian Federation. Drichko earned her MSc from St. Petersburg State University in 1996 and her PhD from the Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute in St. Petersburg in 2002. 

Marija Nikolic-Jaric

Marija Nikolic-JaricMarija Nikolic-Jaric, a Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, and a previous recipient of a Blewett Scholarship, works on biophysical flow cytometry. Since receiving the 2009 Blewett Scholarship, Nikolic-Jaric has grown substantially in research ability and responsibility. The 2010 award will enable her to further increase her independence as a scientific investigator and strengthen her emerging connections with other professionals in this field. Nikolic-Jaric received her BSc from the University of Belgrade in 1990 and her PhD from Simon Fraser University in Vancouver in 2008.  

M. Hildred Blewett Scholarship Award

The Blewett Scholarship award was established by a generous bequest from M. Hildred Blewett, a particle accelerator physicist who died in 2004. Hildred Blewett was passionate about physics and recognized that women who have interrupted their research careers for family reasons can face many obstacles when they try to resume that research. The scholarship consists of a one-year award of up to $45,000 which can be used toward dependent care, salary, travel, equipment, and tuition and fees. Applicants are selected by a sub-committee of CSWP.


About APS

The American Physical Society (www.aps.org) is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS represents over 51,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world. Society offices are located in College Park, MD (Headquarters), Ridge, NY, and Washington, DC.

Media Contact