October 22, 2015

2016 American Physical Society Prizes and Awards Announced

COLLEGE PARK, MD – The American Physical Society (APS) has announced the Society’s 2016 Prize and Award winners. APS Prizes and Awards recognize outstanding achievements in research, education and public service. With few exceptions, they are open to all members of the scientific community in the U.S. and abroad. The nomination and selection procedure, involving APS-appointed selection committees, guarantees their high standards and prestige.

“The APS is proud to honor the exceptional physicists who make up the Society’s 2016 Prize and Award recipients,” said APS President Samuel Aronson. “As I look through the list of honorees, I am simultaneously humbled by the breadth and magnitude of their accomplishments and delighted that we have the means to recognize such a diverse selection of researchers for work that spans the spectrum of physical science.”

A list of 2016 honorees and their affiliations, as it currently stands, is available below.

2016 APS Prizes and Awards

APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research
Edward Witten
Institute for Advanced Study

Abraham Pais Prize for History of Physics
Allan Franklin
University of Colorado, Boulder

Andrei Sakharov Prize
Zafra Lerman
Malta Conferences Foundation

Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics
Matthias Troyer
ETH Zürich

Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics
Andrew E. Strominger
Harvard University

Cumrun Vafa
Harvard University

David Adler Lectureship Award in the Field of Materials Physics
Harry A. Atwater
California Institute of Technology

Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics
Randall G. Hulet
Rice University

Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics
Donald G. Truhlar
University of Minnesota

Edward A. Bouchet Award
Pablo Laguna
Georgia Institute of Technology

Excellence in Physics Education Award
Robert John Beichner
North Carolina State University

Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids
David Burnham Tanner
University of Florida, Gainesville

Dirk van der Marel
University of Geneva

George E. Pake Prize
Robert R. Doering
Texas Instruments Inc

Hans A. Bethe Prize
Vassiliki Kalogera
Northwestern University

Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics
Stefan Hoeche
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics
Xiangdong Ji
University of Maryland, College Park / Shanghai Jiao Tong University

J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics
G. Peter Lepage
Cornell University

James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
Mercouri G. Kanatzidis
Northwestern University

John H. Dillon Medal
Thomas H. Epps, III
University of Delaware

Jonathan F. Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert Award for Excellence in Advanced Laboratory Instruction
Van D. Bistrow
University of Chicago

Joseph A. Burton Forum Award
Ernest Moniz
U.S. Department of Energy

Joseph F. Keithley Award for Advances in Measurement Science
Albert Migliori
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize
David Pines
University of California, Davis

Lars Onsager Prize
Marc Mezard
Ecole Normale Superieure

Giorgio Parisi
Sapienza Universita di Roma

Riccardo Zecchina
Politecnico di Torino

Leo Szilard Lectureship Award
Joel Primack
University of California, Santa Cruz

Maria Goeppert Mayer Award
Henriette Elvang
University of Michigan

Max Delbruck Prize in Biological Physics
Stephen R. Quake
Stanford University

Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize
Eli Yablonovitch
University of California, Berkeley

Polymer Physics Prize
Anna C. Balazs
University of Pittsburgh

Prize for a Faculty Member for Research in an Undergraduate Institution
Gregory S. Adkins
Franklin & Marshall College

Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators
Vasili Parkhomchuk
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics
I-yang Lee
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics
Jonathan Dorfan
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology

David Hitlin
California Institute of Technology

Fumihiko Takasaki
High Energy Physics Laboratory (KEK)

Stephen L Olsen
Institute for Basic Science

Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases
Klaus Bartschat
Drake University

APS Press Releases

APS issues press releases on research news, Society activities, and other physics tips.

View Archive

APS Media Contacts

General Media Inquiries

Sara Conners
Director of Communications
(301) 209-3238

Tawanda W. Johnson
Press Secretary
(202) 662-8702

Matteo Rini
Media Relations, Journals

Using the APS Logo

Logo Usage Guidelines

About APS

The American Physical Society is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents over 55,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world. Society offices are located in College Park, Maryland (Headquarters), Ridge, New York, and Washington, D.C.