Panel on Public Affairs

The Panel on Public Affairs (POPA) consists of a Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, immediate Past Chair, the Vice President, the Chair of the Physics Policy Committee (PPC), the Congressional Fellow(s) in the second year following the year of service, thirteen (13) members elected by Council to staggered three (3) year terms, (1) industrial physicist APS-member elected by the Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics to a three (3) year term, and (1) member elected by the Forum on Physics and Society to a three (3) year term. The candidates for election as members of POPA are selected by the Nominating Committee. The Vice Chair is elected by Council and serves in that office for one (1) year, then as Chair-Elect for one (1) year, then as Chair for one (1) year, and then as Immediate Past Chair for one (1) year. The POPA Steering Committee consists of the Chair, the Chair-Elect, the Vice Chair, the Vice President, the PPC Chair, and at least two (2) additional members selected from among and by the members of POPA.

POPA is responsible for making recommendations to the President, the Board, and the Council on public affairs activities of the Society that have been designated by the Board or Council. POPA may initiate new public affairs activities for the Society and may recommend new programs to the Council. POPA shall keep minutes and distribute them to POPA members and to the Council and Board. All POPA reports and APS studies shall be approved by the Council before public release.

Chair: James Daniel Wells (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Michigan

Chair-Elect: E. Dan Dahlberg (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Minnesota

Vice Chair: Dr William Collins (01/19 - 12/19)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Past Chair: Prof Michael Marder (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Texas at Austin

Vice President: Sylvester James Gates (01/19 - 12/19)
Brown University

Member: Cynthia K Nitta (01/19 - 12/21)
Lawrence Livermore Natl Lab

Member, FIAP Rep: James Michael Adams (01/18 - 12/20)
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Member: David J Ernst (01/18 - 12/20)
Vanderbilt University

Member: Carlos Jesus Gutierrez (01/18 - 12/20)
Sandia National Laboratories

Member: M Pottenger Hockaday (01/18 - 12/20)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Barry M Klein (01/19 - 12/21)
University of California, Davis

Member: Thomas E Mason (01/19 - 12/21)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Raymond L Orbach (01/19 - 12/21)
University of Texas at Austin

Member: Michael Alan Tamor (01/17 - 12/19)

Member: Carlos Henrique De Brito Cruz (01/18 - 12/19)
Universidade Estadual de Campinas

Member: Marta Dark McNeese (01/17 - 12/19)
Spelman College

Member: Brian L DeMarco (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Member: Dr Joseph M Jasinski (08/17 - 12/19)
IBM Research

Member, FPS Rep.: Laura Grego (01/19 - 12/21)
Union of Concerned Scientists

Member: Susan K Blessing (01/18 - 12/20)
Florida State University

Member, Chair of PPC: Roger Wirth Falcone (01/19 - 12/19)
University of California, Berkeley

Member, Congressional Fellow: Brian L Clark (01/19 - 12/19)
Harvard University

Advisor: Philip Howard Bucksbaum (01/19 - 12/20)
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Advisor: David Gross (01/18 - 12/19)
University of California, Santa Barbara

POPA Links


Annual Updates

APS Annual Reports contain yearly updates on public affairs.
Gray arrow  APS Annual Reports


APS Staff

Staff Advisor
Francis Slakey

Committee Administrator
Janay Oliver

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members